Standards and specifications for E-learning

DIN PAS 1032-1/2 for education and further education with a special focus placed on E-learning

The Din PAS (Publicly Available Specification) has been available to the German Institute for Norms (Deutschen Institut für Normung e.V.) (DIN) since 2004 and can be transferred to all educational processes in the world of education, despite the emphasis on the namesake E-learning. It observes and describes processes for planning, development, execution, and evaluation in the educational process. Its models are not meant prescriptively, but rather must be adjusted to the respective context (i.e. professional further education, general education, initial school education, etc.) and establish a standardized framework for descriptions. As such, the specification as a flexible instrument can be used for quality assurance and orientation.

Under number 1032, two specifications were made by the German Institute for Norms:

The PAS 1032-1 (free of charge via publishing house Beuth Verlag) consists of:

a.      The reference model of the process description for the quality of planning, development, implementation and evaluation processes of educational offers, in which process categories are identified and described via processes, partial processes, relationship goals, methods, and results;

b.      The reference model for E-learning products, which contains specific criterion for assuring the quality of E-learning products.

 

The PAS 1032-2 consists of the pedagogical object model (DIN DOM) and XML and XMD diagrams (binding). It contains the four components of context, actors, activities, and resources. It organizes their components (pedagogical objects) and relationships in one model. With the XML and XMD diagrams, the information determined via the model and structured data can be collected and issued again through various forms of media.

The sequence of the process steps and the procedure remain open in DIN PAS 1032-1. The thoroughness through which the processes run is independent of the usage context. In my master’s work, I have developed a design for evaluation based on the DIN PAS 1032-1 in light of the interactive learning environment Lernscouts (can be ordered here).

In order to support the conversion of the reference model in practice, a handout featuring a number of practical examples was developed in the work group "Quality Management and Quality Assurance in E-Learning" at the German Institute for Norms, which I was an active part of. The DIN PAS 1069, "Education and further education under close consideration of E-learning: Guidelines to the reference process model for quality management and quality assurance – planning, development, execution, and evaluation of education processes" is a guideline for the DIN PAS 1032-1 and is also available free of charge as a download from the publishing house Beuth Verlag.

ISO IEC 19796 – 1/3

Since 2009, the first ever four part model for education and further education with E-learning has officially existed as an international standard for the international standardization organization ISO. Part 1 of the ISO IEC 19796 offers a reference process model for providers, customers, and users, in which all of the steps of educational processes and educational offers are described. It is based on the process model for DIN-PAS 1032-1:2004 and serves as a general framework for introduction of quality approaches.

Part 2 of the ISO IEC 19796 consists of a complete quality management system for education and further education – with certification possibilities since 2009. It is known as the Harmonized Quality Model.

Part 3 of the ISO IEC 19796, Reference Methods and Metrics, consists of reference models for methods and metrics for with the first section.

Part 4 is established by the guide How to Use ISO/IEC 19796-1 and, to date, is available in English, French, Russian, and Korean (also planned are Italian, Japanese, and German)

Standards und Spezifikationen für eBildung

DIN PAS 1032-1/2 zur Aus- und Weiterbildung unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von E-Learning

Die Din PAS (Publicly Available Specification) liegt seit Beginn des Jahres 2004 im Deutschen Institut für Normung e.V. (DIN) vor und kann trotz der Betonung des namensgebenden Begriffs E-Learning auf alle Prozesse in der Bildung übertragen werden. Siebetrachtet und beschreibt Prozesse der Planung, Entwicklung, Durchführung und Evaluation im Bildungsprozess. Ihre Modelle sind nicht präskriptiv gemeint, sondern müssen dem jeweiligen Kontext (z.B. berufliche Weiterbildung, allgemeine Bildung, schulische Erstausbildung etc.) angepasst werden und bilden einen standardisierten Rahmen für Beschreibungen. Somit kann die Spezifikation als flexibles Instrument zur Qualitätssicherung und Orientierung genutzt werden.

Unter der Nummer 1032 wurden vom Deutschen Institut für Normung e.V. zwei Spezifikationen herausgegeben:

  1. die PAS 1032-1 (kostenlos über den Beuth Verlag zu beziehen) bestehend aus dem
  2. a.      Referenzmodell zur Prozessbeschreibung für die Qualität von Planungs-, Entwicklungs-, Durchführungs- und Evaluationsprozessen von Bildungsangeboten, in welchem Prozesskategorien identifiziert und durch Prozesse, Teilprozesse, Beziehungen Ziele, Methoden und Ergebnisse beschrieben werden;
    b.      und dem Referenzmodell für E-Learning-Produkte, welches spezifische Kriterien zur Sicherung der Qualität von E-Learning-Produkten beinhaltet.

  3. die PAS 1032-2 besteht aus dem Didaktischen Objektmodell (DIN DOM) sowie einem XML- und XMD-Schemata (Binding). Es beinhaltet die vier Komponenten Kontext, Aktoren, Aktivitäten und Ressourcen und organisiert deren Bestandteile (Didaktische Objekte) und Beziehungen in einem Modell. mit dem XML- und XMD-schemata können die über das Modell erfassten und strukturierten Daten aufgenommen und auf verschiedenen Medien wieder ausgegeben werden.

Die Reihenfolge der Prozessschritte und der Vorgehensweise bleibt in der DIN PAS 1032-1 offen. Auch die Ausführlichkeit, mit der die Prozesse durchlaufen werden ist abhängig vom Nutzungskontext. In meiner Masterarbeit habe ich auf der Basis der DIN PAS 1032-1 an Hand der interaktiven Lernumgebung Lernscouts ein Evalutaionsdesign entwickelt (hier bestellbar).

Zur Unterstützung der Umsetzung des Referenzmodells in die Praxis wurde in der Arbeitsgruppe "Qualitätsmanagement und Qualitätssicherung im E-Learning" Deutschen Institut für Normung, in welcher ich mitgewirkt habe, eine Handreichung mit zahlreichen Praxisbeispielen entwickelt. Die DIN PAS 1069, "Aus- und Weiterbildung unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von E-Learning- Leitfaden zum Referenzprozessmodell für Qualitätsmanagement und Qualitätssicherung - Planung, Entwicklung, Durchführung und Evaluation von Bildungsprozessen" ist ein Leitfaden für die DIN PAS 1032-1 und ebenfalls kostenlos als Download beim Beuth Verlag verfügbar.

 

ISO IEC 19796 - 1/3

Seit 2009 liegt der erste internationale Standard der internationalen Standardisierungsorganisation ISO für die Aus- und Weiterbildung mit E-Learning vollständig, in vier Teilen vor. Teil 1 der ISO IEC 19796 bietet ein Referenzprozessmodell für Anbietende, Kunden und Nutzende, in welchem alle Prozesse von Bildungsprojekten und Bildungsangeboten beschrieben werden. Es beruht auf dem Prozessmodell der DIN-PAS 1032-1:2004 und stellt einen allgemeinen Rahmen für die Einführung von Qualitätsansätzen dar.

 

Die ISO IEC 19796 - 2 besteht aus einem vollständigen Qualitätsmanagementsystem für Aus- und Weiterbildung - seit 2009 mit Zertifizierungsmöglichkeiten, das Harmonized Quality Model.

Der dritte Teil der ISO IEC 19796, Reference Methods and Metrics, besteht aus Referenzmodellen für Methoden und Metriken für den Einsatz des ersten Teils.

Der vierte Teil schließlich wird aus dem Leitfaden How to use ISO/IEC 19796-1 gebildet und liegt bis jetzt in Englisch, Französisch, Russisch und Koreanisch vor (geplant sind zusätzlich Italienisch, Japanisch und Deutsch)